Scilly News
Front Page | The Islands | History | Fun & Games
From The Western Rocks To The Eastern Isles
EDITORS THOUGHT
SPORT HEADLINES
View "Sport"
Title image WPGC 2007: Day Two - Caradon & Falmouth Do It Again
It started off overcast, but has reduced to haze in time for the first races of the day. In both competitions it is close running between Roseland, Falmouth, Caradon and Newquay. Other clubs are in with a chance, especially Mount's Bay in the... SD
Mon 07 May

WPGC 2007: Monday's Events
Normally there would be a sailing race at 10.30, but due to high wind and swelly seas, it has been cancelled. There is also the rugby tournament on the Garrison and... SD
Mon 07 May

Title image WPGC 2007: Day One - Over 100 Lineup
It started off a misty day, but since the 1200 coxswains meeting has brightened up significantly, with a little mist remaining on the horizon. The first round... SD
Sun 06 May

Title image Scilly Prepares for the 2007 Gig Championships
The Islands are preparing for the eighteenth World Pilot Gig Championships, which will take place this weekend. Scilly News will be there doing it's normal coverage... SD
Fri 04 May

Title image Scilly Prepares for the 2007 Gig Championships
The Islands are preparing for the eighteenth World Pilot Gig Championships, which will take place this weekend. Scilly News will be there doing it's normal coverage... SD
Thu 03 May

World Gig Champions A Month Away
Tue 28 Mar
Scilly is about to prepare for the early World Pilot Gig Championships, this year taking place between April 29-30.... SD

New York - Scilly Rowing Record Remains
Sat 06 Aug
A recent attempt at breaking a 108-year old transatlantic rowing record failed when Dutch rowers were blown 100 miles off the... 2

Vivaldi Atlantic 4 break Canada-Europe record
Tue 19 Jul
The crew of the 29' Naturally Best arrived at the finish line off Scilly on 11 July, having started their journey on 31 May,... 2

WPGC 2005: Sun, wind and salt burn
Tue 03 May
The 2005 World Pilot Gig Championships were the most disrupted by weather than any previous. Sea fog was to blame for delays... SD

WPGC 2005: Sunday
Sun 01 May
Results and pictures of all races can be found at http://www.pilotgigs.info/. Additional information: Incidents on buoys... SD

WPGC 2005 Schedule
Sat 30 Apr
Ammended Sat 30 Apr 16:20. |Friday 29 April| 4:00pm - Cox meeting and registration, Town Hall |Saturday 30... SD

WPGC 2005: Saturday
Sat 30 Apr
The veterans races (that were postponed from last night) were run this morning . The start was changed to Nut Rock. Results... SD

WPGC 2005: Friday
Fri 29 Apr
The veterans race is postponed until tomorrow due to very poor visibility. The extended team of coastguards bought over for... SD

WPGC 2005: Apparel
Wed 27 Apr
IOS WPGC 2005 t-shirts are now available from Sports Mode. Brouchures for the event will be available from Wednesday 28 April... SD

Tresco Marathon VI
Mon 18 Apr
Another successful marathon in the rain this year to raise a further 50000 for the Cystic Fibrosis Trust. On the same day... SD

Wharry To Boat Show
Mon 03 Jan
Andreya Wharry, who broke a World Record kitesurfing from Scilly to Cornwall will be representing Cornwall at the January... SD

New Gig For Cornwall
Thu 18 Nov
Flushing and Mylor, two villages near Penryn, have a new gig from Swanage. The new club, F&MPGC;, formed in September and has... SD

Ladies' Invitation Weekend Results
Sun 05 Sep
Results from the first race, from Nut Rock to St Mary's on Saturday 4 September... SD

Ladies' Swap Results 2004
Sat 04 Sep
The Bonnet crew won the ladies' swap races this season, over ten points ahead of their rivals. Second place was decided by a... SD

Round The Island Trophies
Mon 09 Aug
Here is a list of trophies presented after the Round The Island Race last weekend. |Trophy |For ... SD

Old Wreck Race: 6 August
Mon 09 Aug
The 2004 Old Wreck Race took place on Friday 6 August. It is one of the two longest races in the mens' event calendar... SD

Round The Island Race
Mon 02 Aug
The annual Round the Island Race was last Sunday. In change to it's normal route, the boats went anticlockwise around St... SD

Gig Race: Wednesday 14 July
Thu 15 Jul
Ladies' Wednesday Swap 5, Nut Rock The ladies' Bonnet crew continued their strong season yesterday when they finished... SD

Gig Race: Friday 9 June
Tue 13 Jul
Results: 1 Men A Vaur 2 Bonnet 3 Golden Eagle 4 Shah 5 Czar 6 Islander 7 Serica 8 Dolphin 9 Galatea 10... SD

Island powerlifter in World Championships
Sat 05 Jun
Marian Gibson from St Mary’s has travelled far across the water to France this weekend to take part in the World... IT